(Updated July 15, 2020)

BCDC Stakeholders:

BCDC continues to adapt to the challenges faced by all levels of government due to COVID-19 and is operating based upon guidance provided by the State of California and local public health departments in the San Francisco Bay Area. BCDC will continue to hold virtual online public meetings and work remotely – very likely through the end of 2020 – until the state and local public health officials agree that it is appropriate for Commissioners and staff to be physically present at BCDC’s office in the Bay Area Metro Center in San Francisco.

At this time, we are encouraging electronic submission of permit applications. Please send your completed application form and materials via email to  info@bcdc.ca.gov

Operational changes at BCDC continue in at least four respects:

  1. Commission meetings: BCDC is adhering to its meeting schedules for the Commission, Enforcement Committee, Design Review Board, Engineering Criteria Review Board, and Commission working groups. Those public meetings are being held virtually based upon  Governor Newsom’s Executive Order that alters the state’s Bagley-Keene Open Meeting Act requirements. BCDC will continue to post meeting agendas in a timely fashion, ensure that its public meetings are accessible to the public, and offer members of the public the opportunity to observe and participate in the meetings. See information on public participation.
  2. Staff working policies: BCDC's office is located in San Francisco. However, state and local health officials’ guidance explicitly recommends enhanced telework schedules and physical distancing. Therefore, except for essential tasks, BCDC staff will continue to work remotely. Obviously, this limits the ability of BCDC staff members to meet in person with the public, permittees, applicants, planners, and vendors. However, the staff has demonstrated considerable resilience, has quickly adapted to working remotely and virtually, and continues to be available every day to conduct business with all of our stakeholders. Staff members are available through email, phone, and video conferencing.
  3. Closure of Shoreline Public Access Areas due to COVID-19: On a case-by-case basis, BCDC is authorizing temporary closures of required shoreline public access areas due to COVID-19 when the proposed closures are consistent with local public health orders and meet the criteria below. Property owners proposing to close public access areas must seek approval from BCDC prior to closing such areas. Contact ashley.tomerlin@bcdc.ca.gov to submit a request. BCDC approval or disapproval will be based on the following criteria:
    • The purpose, need, and duration of the closure or restriction must be tied to a COVID-19 public health order from the local public health department or public safety department. As orders are lightened or lifted, public access areas will reopen in a commensurate manner.
    • Closures or restrictions may apply only to public access areas that are affected by the COVID-19 public health orders. Public access areas not subject to the public health order must remain open.
    • The purpose and need for closures or restrictions to public access areas must be documented prior to the closure and updated as the situation changes.
    • Upon reopening, the public access area shall be restored to its previous condition or better.
  4. Resilience: Adapting successfully to the challenges that BCDC and its stakeholders face due to COVID-19 will require more changes than those listed above. Even in the face of this public health crisis, BCDC will look for opportunities to improve its operations and expand its outreach and transparency. Commissioners and staff welcome suggestions that can ensure continued, if not expanded, operations and public involvement.

In addition to the staff listed below, feel free to contact BCDC Executive Director Larry Goldzband (larry.goldzband@bcdc.ca.gov; 415-352-3653; 925-818-1751) with any questions or concerns during this period.

In addition to the staff listed below, feel free to contact BCDC Executive Director Larry Goldzband (larry.goldzband@bcdc.ca.go; 415-352-3653) with any questions or concerns during this period.

Questions related to specific BCDC programs should be directed to the following staff: 

  • Shoreline Public Access Questions
    Andrea Gaffney (415-352-3643; andrea.gaffney@bcdc.ca.gov)
  • Adapting to Rising Tides Program
    Dana Brechwald (415-352-3656; dana.brechwald@bcdc.ca.gov)
  • Policy Amendments: San Francisco Bay Plan, Special Area Plans, etc.
    Shannon Fiala (415-352-3665; shannon.fiala@bcdc.ca.gov)
  • Oil Spill Prevention and Response
    Linda Scourtis (415-352-3644; linda.scourtis@bcdc.ca.gov) 
  • Enforcement
    Priscilla Njuguna (415-352-3640; priscilla.njuguna@bcdc.ca.gov)
  • Dredging and Sediment Management
    Brenda Goeden (415-352-3623; brenda.goeden@bcdc.ca.gov) 
  • Permitting – Bay Resources
    Erik Buehmann (415-352-3645; erik.buehmann@bcdc.ca.gov)
  • Permitting – Shoreline Development
    Rebecca Coates-Maldoon (415-352-3634; rcoates-maldoon@bcdc.ca.gov)
  • Legislation
    Steve Goldbeck (415-352-3611; steve.goldbeck@bcdc.ca.gov)
  • Human Resources
    Anissa Kotey  (415-352-3639; anissa.kotey@bcdc.ca.gov)

Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)