

BCDC Commission Briefing

February 16, 2023

Dana Brechwald, Assistant Planning Director for Climate
Adaptation
San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission
dana.brechwald@bcdc.ca.gov

Leadership Groups



BCDC Commission

BCDC Rising Sea Level Working Group

Local Electeds Regional

Task Force

BCDC Bay Adapt Implementation Group

Regional
Shoreline
Adaptation Plan
Advisory
Group

BCDC Core Team

+ Consultants

Elected Level

Leadership Level

Expertise Level

BCDC Level







Ensure that local efforts and interests are successfully married with regional goals



Provide reports and recommendations to the BCDC Commission



Serve as visible public champions for sea level rise adaptation in your community

Provide a model for regional coordination and decision-making



Ana Chretian
Trustee
Napa River Reclamation District



John Gioia, Chair Supervisor Contra Costa County



Kate Colin Mayor City of San Rafael



Alma Hernandez
Mayor
City of Suisun City



Lisa Gauthier Mayor City of East Palo Alto



Sudhanshu 'Suds' Jain Councilmember City of Santa Clara





Mark Joseph Councilmember City of American Canyon



Sophie Maxwell
Vice President
SF Public Utilities Commission



Janelle Kellman Councilmember City of Sausalito



Dorriss Panduro Councilmember City of Fairfield



Sandra Lowe Mayor City of Sonoma



Aaron Peskin
Supervisor
City and County of San Francisco





Mark Salinas Mayor City of Hayward



Janice Cader Thompson
Vice Mayor
City of Petaluma



Linda Sell Councilmember City of Sunnyvale



Cesar Zepeda Councilmember City of Richmond



Cecilia Taylor Vice Mayor City of Menlo Park



Brianne Zorn Mayor City of Martinez



Advisory Group roles and responsibilities





Sharing subject-matter expertise



Contributing to project materials



Alignment and liaison with organization



Sharing real-world examples & experiences

Advisory Group members



Adam Varat, Port of San Francisco

Adrian Covert, Bay Area Council

Anthony Khalil, Bayview Hunters Point Community Advocates

Ariana Rickard, Sonoma Land Trust

Arthur Feinstein, Sierra Club

Aundi Mevoli, San Francisco Bay BayKeeper

Brian Holt, East Bay Regional Parks District

Carin High, Citizens Committee to Complete the Refuge

Danielle Mieler, City of Alameda

Diana Perez-Domencich, County of San Mateo

Dominique Brooks, Healing Impacted Communities

Dr. Todd Sax, Department of Toxic Substances Control

Ella McDougall, Ocean Protection Council

Emily Corwin, Suisun-Fairfield Wastewater Treatment District

Jacy Hyde, California Office of Emergency Management

Jasneet Sharma, County of Santa Clara

Jeanette Weisman, MTC/ABAG

Jeremy Lowe, San Francisco Estuary Institute

Jessica Davenport, State Coastal Conservancy

John Bourgeois, Santa Clara Valley Water

John Briscoe, Briscoe, Ivester & Bazel

Josh Bradt, Bay Area Regional Collaborative

Josh Quigley, Save the Bay

Julie Beagle, US Army Corps of Engineers

Karen Pierce, San Francisco Department of Public Health

Kate Hagemann, City of San Rafael

Keta Price, The Hood Planner

Kris May, Pathways Climate Institute

Kristina Hill, UC Berkeley

Laura Feinstein, SPUR

Matt Maloney, MTC/ABAG

Paul Campos, Building Industry Association

Roger Levanthal, Marin County Flood Control

Sahrye Cohen, US Environmental Protection Agency

Tian Feng, Bay Area Rapid Transit (BART)

Vishal Ream-Rao, Caltrans

Xavier Fernandez, Regional Water Quality Control Board