Commission Members

The Commission is composed of 27 members.

R. Zachary Wasserman, Chair
Wendel Rosen Black & Dean, LLP
1111 Broadway, 24th Floor
Oakland, CA 94607
Telephone: (510) 834-6600
Fax: (510) 808-4691
E-Mail: zwasserman@wendel.com
Commissioner
Appointed by: Governor Brown on 02/14/2012
Alternate:  (Vacant)

Anne Halsted, Vice Chair
375 Beale St., Suite 510
San Francisco, CA  94105
Phone: 415.352.3600
E-Mail: ahalsted@aol.com
Commissioner
Appointed by: Governor Davis
on 02/23/2001
Re-appointed by Governor Schwarzenegger on 05/06/2005
Alternate:  Chappell

Mark Addiego
City Hall
400 Grand Avenue
South San Francisco, CA 94080
Telephone: (650) 877-8500
Fax: (650) 829-6609
E-Mail: mark.addiego@ssf.net
Commissioner
Appointed by: Association of Bay Area Governments on 01/20/2011
Alternate:  Vacant

Eddie Ahn
1028A Howard Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
Telephone: 415-252-9700
Fax: 415-252-9775
E-Mail:  eddie.ahn.bcdc@gmail.com
Commissioner
Appointed by:  Speaker of the Assembly on 04/25/2018
Alternate:  Vacant

Jesse Arreguin
City of Berkeley
2180 Milvia Street
Berkeley,  CA. 94704
Phone:  (510) 981-7100
E-Mail:JArreguin@cityofberkeley.info
Alternate to Butt
Appointed by: Association of Bay Area Governments on 07/19/2018

Dr. Tessa Beach
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
450 Golden Gate Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94102
Commissioner
Appointed by: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers on 10/28/2019
Alternate: Williams

Jason Brush
EPA-Region 9 (WTR-1)
75 Hawthorne Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
Telephone: (415) 972-3483
Fax: (415) 947-3537
E-Mail: brush.jason@epa.gov
Alternate to Ziegler
Appointed by: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency on 02/25/2010

Pat Burt
City of Palo Alto
250 Hamilton Avenue
Palo Alto, CA 94301
Phone:  (650) 329-2379
E-Mail: pat@patburt.org
Commissioner
Appointed by: Association of Bay Area Governments on 03/18/2021

Tom Butt
City of Richmond
450 Civic Center Plaza, Suite 300
Richmond, CA 94804
Telephone: (510) 620-6503
Fax: (510) 412-2070
E-Mail: tom.butt@intres.com
Commissioner
Appointed by: Association of Bay Area Governments on 01/19/2017
Alternate: Arreguin

David Canepa
Hall of Justice
400 County Center
Redwood City, CA 94063
Telephone: (650) 363-4572
E-Mail: dcanepa@smcgov.org
Alternate to Pine
Appointed by: San Mateo County on 01/12/2021

Wilma Chan
Alameda County Board of Supervisors
1221 Oak Street, Suite 536
Oakland, CA 94612
Telephone: (510) 272-6693
Fax: (510) 208-3910
E-Mail: wilma.chan@acgov.org
Commissioner
Appointed by: Alameda County on 01/11/2011
Alternate: Gilmore

Jim Chappell
375 Beale St., Suite 510
San Francisco, CA  94105
Phone: 415.352.3600
E-Mail: jimchappellsf@gmail.com
Alternate to Halsted
Appointed by: Governor Davis on 05/29/2002

Damon Connolly
3501 Civic Center Drive, Room 329
San Rafael, CA 94903
Phone: (415) 473-7354
Fax: (415) 473-3645
E-Mail: dconnolly@marincounty.org
Alternate to Moulton-Peters
Appointed by: Marin County on 01/06/2015

Jenn Eckerle
California Natural Resources Agency
1416 Ninth Street, Room 1311
Sacramento, CA 95814
Telephone: (916) 653-5656
E-Mail: Jenn.Eckerle@resources.ca.gov
Commissioner
Appointed by: Secretary of Natural Resources on 01/22/2020

Rebecca Eisen
375 Beale St., Suite 510
San Francisco, CA  94105
Phone: 415.352.3600
Fax: 888.348.5190
E-Mail:  reisen49@gmail.com
Commissioner
Appointed by: Governor Newsom on 12/01/2020

Dina El-Tawansy
California Department of Transportation
District 4
111 Grand Avenue
Oakland, CA 94623-0660
Telephone: (510) 286-4444
E-Mail: dina.el-tawansy@dot.ca.gov
Alternate : Nozzari
Appointed by: California State Transportation Agency on 01/08/2021

Marie Gilmore
City of Alameda
375 Beale St., Suite 510
San Francisco, CA  94105
Phone: 415.352.3600
E-Mail: melrgilmore@gmail.com
Alternate to Chan
Appointed by: Alameda County on 03/15/2011

John Gioia
Contra Costa County
11780 San Pablo Ave., Suite D
El Cerrito, CA 94530
Telephone: (510) 231-8686
Fax: (510) 374-3429
E-Mail: john.gioia@bos.cccounty.us
Commissioner
Appointed by: Contra Costa County on 01/05/1999
Alternate: Glover

Federal D. Glover
Contra Costa County District V
190 E. 4th Street
Pittsburg, CA 94565
Telephone: (925) 608-4200
Fax: (925) 608-4209
E-Mail: district5@bos.cccounty.us
Alternate to Gioia
Appointed by: Contra Costa County on 01/05/2016

James Gore 
County of Sonoma
575 Administration Drive, Room 100A
Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Telephone: (707) 565-2241
E-Mail: James.Gore@sonoma-county.org
Alternate to Gorin
Appointed by: Sonoma County on 01/08/2019

Susan Gorin
County of Sonoma
575 Administration Drive, Room 100A
Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Telephone: (707) 565-2241
Fax: (707) 565-3778
E-Mail: Susan.Gorin@sonoma-county.org
Commissioner
Appointed by: Sonoma County on 01/08/2013
Alternate: Gore

Dr. Andrew Gunther
375 Beale St., Suite 510
San Francisco, CA  94105
Phone: 415.352.3600
E-Mail: andrew.gunther@waterboards.ca.gov
Commissioner
Appointed by: Regional Water Quality Control Board on 06/08/2020
Alternate: McGrath

Daniel Hillmer
City of Larkspur
400 Magnolia Street
Larkspur, CA 94939
Telephone: (415) 927-5110
E-mail: dhillmer@cityoflarkspur.org
Alternate
Appointed by: Association of Bay Area Governments 05/02/13

Otto Lee
County of Santa Clara
70 West Hedding Street, 10th Floor
San Jose, CA 95110
Telephone: (408) 299-5030
Fax: (408) 298-6637
E-Mail: otto.lee@bos.sccgov.org
Commissioner Appointed by: Santa Clara County on 01/12/2021
Alternate: Scharff

Jennifer Lucchesi
State Lands Commission
100 Howe Avenue, Suite 100-South
Sacramento, CA 95825-8202
Telephone: (916) 574-1800
E-Mail: Jennifer.Lucchesi@slc.ca.gov
Commissioner
Appointed by: State Lands Commission on 05/13/2013
Alternate: Pemberton

Jim McGrath
375 Beale St., Suite 510
San Francisco, CA  94105
Phone: 415.352.3600
E-Mail: macmcgrath@comcast.net
Alternate to Gunther
Appointed by: Regional Water Quality Control Board on 06/08/2020

Stephanie Moulton-Peters
Marin County Board of Supervisors
3501 Civic Center Drive, Room 329
San Rafael, CA 94903-4193
Telephone: (415) 473-7331
E-Mail: smoultonpeters@marincounty.org
Commissioner
Appointed by: Marin County on 01/12/2021
Alternate: Connolly

Barry Nelson
375 Beale St., Suite 510
San Francisco, CA  94105
Phone: 415.352.3600
E-Mail:  barrynelsonwws@gmail.com
Alternate to Ranchod
Appointed by: Governor Brown
on 06/26/2018

Sean Nozzari
California Department of Transportation
District 4
111 Grand Avenue
Oakland, CA 94623-0660
Telephone: (510) 286-4444
E-Mail: sean.nozzari@dot.ca.gov
Alternate to El-Tawansy
Appointed by: California State Transportation Agency on 01/08/2021

Sheri L. Pemberton
State Lands Commission
100 Howe Avenue, Suite 100-South
Sacramento, CA 95825-8202
Telephone: (916) 574-1800
Fax: (916) 574-1810
E-Mail: sheri.pemberton@slc.ca.gov
Alternate to Lucchesi
Appointed by: State Lands Commission on 08/30/2012 reappointed on 05/13/2013

Aaron Peskin
City and County of San Francisco
1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Room 244
San Francisco, CA 94102-4689
Phone # (415) 554-7450
E-Mail: Aaron.Peskin@sfgov.org
Commissioner
Appointed by: City and County of San Francisco on 05/02/2017
Alternate: Stefani

Dave Pine
County of San Mateo
400 County Government Center
Redwood City CA 94063
Telephone: 650-363-4571
Fax: (650) 368-3012
E-Mail: dpine@co.sanmateo.ca.us
Commissioner
Appointed by: San Mateo County on 05/24/2011
Alternate: Canepa

Belia Ramos
Napa County
1195 Third Street, Room 310
Napa, CA 94559
Telephone: (707) 253-4386
Fax: (707) 253-4176
E-Mail: belia.ramos@countyofnapa.org
Alternate to Wagenknecht
Appointed by: Napa County on 01/10/2017

Sanjay M. Ranchod
375 Beale St., Suite 510
San Francisco, CA  94105
Phone: 415.352.3600
E-Mail: ranchod.bcdc@gmail.com
Commissioner
Appointed by: Governor Brown on 04/28/2017
Alternate: Nelson

R. Sean Randolph
Bay Area Council Economic Institute
353 Sacramento, Suite 1000
San Francisco, CA 94111
Telephone: (415) 981-7117
Fax: (415) 981-6408
E-Mail: sean@bayareacouncil.org
Commissioner
Appointed by: Governor Schwarzenegger
on 05/06/2005
Alternate:  (Vacant)

Greg Scharff
375 Beale St., Suite 510
San Francisco, CA  94105
Phone: 415.352.3600
E-Mail: gregscharff@me.com
Alternate to Lee
Appointed by: Santa Clara County
on 02/12/2013

Patricia Showalter
375 Beale St., Suite 510
San Francisco, CA  94105
Phone: 415.352.3600
E-Mail: Patshow4MV@gmail.com
Commissioner
Appointed by: Senate Rules Committee on 09/04/2019

Jim Spering
Board of Supervisors
Solano County
675 Texas Street, Suite 6500
Fairfield CA 94533-6342
Telephone: (707) 784-6136
Fax: (707) 784-6665
E-Mail: jimzspering@cs.com
Commissioner
Appointed by Solano County on 1/04/2011; 2/7/2012; 1/8/2013; 1/7/2014; 1/6/2015
Alternate: Vasquez

Catherine Stefani
City and County of San Francisco
1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Room 244
San Francisco, CA 94102-4689
Phone # (415) 554-7752
E-Mail: Catherine.Stefani@sfgov.org
Alternate to Peskin
Appointed by: City and County of San Francisco on 02/05/2019

John Vasquez
Board of Supervisors
Solano County
675 Texas Street, Suite 6500
Fairfield CA 94533-6342
Telephone: 707-784-6129
Fax: 707-784-6665
E-Mail: jmvasquez@solanocounty.com
Alternate to Spering
Appointed by Solano County on 1/04/2011; 2/7/2012; 1/8/2013; 1/7/2014; 1/6/2015

Brad Wagenknecht
Napa County
1195 Third Street, Room 310
Napa, CA 94559
Telephone: (707) 253-4828
Fax: (707) 253-4176
E-Mail: brad.wagenknecht@countyofnapa.org
Commissioner
Appointed by: Napa County on 01/03/05; reappointed on 01/06/2009; 01/11/2011
Alternate: Ramos

Tommy Williams
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
450 Golden Gate Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94102
Alternate to Beach
Appointed by: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers on 10/28/2019

Sam Ziegler
EPA-Region 9 (WTR-3)
75 Hawthorne Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
Telephone: (415) 972-3399
Fax: (415) 947-3537
E-Mail: ziegler.sam@epa.gov
Commissioner
Appointed by: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency on 02/25/2010
Alternate: Brush


Ex Parte Communication Requirements

Ex parte communications raise due process and fair hearing concerns because Commission decisions must be based on information that has been provided to all parties and the public, and also must be based on material contained only in the administrative record. The memorandum on ex parte communications explains the prohibition on ex parte communications, and Commissioners’ duties to disclose and report such communications if they occur to preserve the integrity of the Commission’s decision-making process. The Commission’s regulations prohibit ex parte communications in adjudicatory actions (permit, consistency and enforcement actions) before the Commission. (Cal Code Regs., tit. 14, § 10283(a).) If a prohibited ex parte communication nevertheless occurs, the regulations require Commissioners to disclose the content of the communication on the record, and to submit to the Executive Director a copy of any written communication, including any response, or a memorandum that includes the substance of any oral communication, including any response, and identifies the party or parties involved. (Id. § 10283(c), (d), (e)).

If an ex parte communication occurs for any permit application, enforcement action or consistency review determination, Commissioners should complete an Ex Parte Communication Disclosure Form. Commissioners or members of the public may also contact the Commission legal staff via E-mail at exparte@bcdc.ca.gov.


Legislative Appointees

Assembly Representative

The Honorable Philip Ting
State Capitol, Room 3123
Sacramento, CA 95814
Telephone: (916) 319-2019
Alternate: Michael Sweet

Senate Representative

The Honorable Nancy Skinner
State Capitol, Room 2082
Sacramento, CA 95814
Telephone: (916) 651-4009
Alternate: Sherry McCoy

Executive Director

Lawrence J. Goldzband
375 Beale St., Suite 510
San Francisco, CA  94105
Phone: 415.352.3600
E-Mail: lgoldzband@bcdc.ca.gov