Commission Members

The Commission is composed of 27 members.

R. Zachary Wasserman, Chair
Wendel Rosen Black & Dean, LLP
1111 Broadway, 24th Floor
Oakland, CA 94607
Telephone: (510) 834-6600
Fax: (510) 808-4691
E-Mail: zwasserman@wendel.com
Commissioner
Appointed by: Governor Brown
on 02/14/12
Alternate:  (Vacant)

Anne Halsted, Vice Chair
455 Golden Gate Avenue, Suite 10600
San Francisco, CA 94102-7019
Telephone: (415) 352-3600
Fax: (415) 398-6315
E-Mail: ahalsted@aol.com
Commissioner
Appointed by: Governor Davis
on 02/23/01
Re-appointed by Governor Schwarzenegger on 05/06/05
Alternate:  Chappell

Mark Addiego
City Hall
400 Grand Avenue
South San Francisco, CA 94080
Telephone: (650) 877-8500
Fax: (650) 829-6609
E-Mail: mark.addiego@ssf.net
Commissioner
Appointed by: Association of Bay Area Governments
on 01/20/11
Alternate:  Cohen

Newsha Ajami
455 Golden Gate Avenue, Suite 10600
San Francisco, CA 94102-7019
Telephone: (415) 352-3600
E-mail: newsha.ajami@gmail.com
Alternate to McGrath
Appointed by: Regional Water Quality Control Board on 10/16/13

 Joshua Arce
455 Golden Gate Avenue, Suite 10600
San Francisco, CA 94102-7019
Telephone: (415) 352-3600
Fax: (415) 352-3606
E-Mail: josharce.bcdc@gmail.com
Alternate to Gibbs
Appointed by: Speaker of the Assembly on 06/12/13

Jason Brush
EPA-Region 9 (WTR-1)
75 Hawthorne Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
Telephone: (415) 972-3483
Fax: (415) 947-3537
E-Mail: brush.jason@epa.gov
Alternate to Ziegler
Appointed by: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
on 02/25/10

Tom Butt
City of Richmond
450 Civic Center Plaza, Suite 300
Richmond, CA 94804
Telephone: (510) 620-6503
Fax: (510) 412-2070
E-Mail: tom.butt@intres.com
Commissioner
Appointed by: Association of Bay Area Governments
on 01/19/17

Wilma Chan
Alameda County Board of Supervisors
1221 Oak Street, Suite 536
Oakland, CA 94612
Telephone: (510) 272-6693
Fax: (510) 208-3910
E-Mail: wilma.chan@acgov.org
Commissioner
Appointed by:
Alameda County
on 01/11/11
Alternate: Gilmore

Jim Chappell
455 Golden Gate Avenue, Suite 10600
San Francisco, CA 94102-7019
Telephone: (415) 352-3600
Fax: (415) 352-3606
E-Mail: chappell_jim@att.net
Alternate to Halsted
Appointed by: Governor Davis
on 05/29/02

Malia Cohen
City and County of San Francisco
City Hall, Room 244
1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place
San Francisco, CA  94102
Phone # (415) 554-7672
Fax #  (415) 554-7674
E-Mail: Malia.Cohen@sfgov.org
Alternate to Addiego
Appointed by: Association of Bay Area Governments
on 03/31/11

Damon Connolly
3501 Civic Center Drive, Room 329
San Rafael, CA 94903
Phone: (415) 473-7354
Fax: (415) 473-3645
E-Mail: dconnolly@marincounty.org
Alternate to Sears
Appointed by: Marin County
on 01/06/2015

Dave Cortese
County of Santa Clara
70 West Hedding Street, 10th Floor
San Jose, CA 95110
Telephone: (408) 299-5030
Fax: (408) 298-6637
E-Mail: dave.cortese@bos.sccgov.org
Commissioner
Appointed by: Santa Clara County
on 01/27/12; reappointed on 01/14/14
Alternate: Scharff

Pauline Russo Cutter
City of San Leandro
835 E. 14th Street
San Leandro, CA 94577
Telephone: (510) 577-3355
Fax: (510) 577-3340
E-Mail: pcutter@sanleandro.org
Alternate to Butt
Appointed by: Association of Bay Area Governments
on 01/19/17

Raul DeLaRosa
California Natural Resources Agency
1416 Ninth Street, Room 1311
Sacramento, CA 95814
Telephone: (916) 653-6333
Fax: (916) 653-8102
E-Mail: raul.delarosa@resources.ca.gov
Commissioner
Appointed by:
Secretary for Natural Resources
on 06/01/15
Alternate: Jahns

Karen Finn
Department of Finance
915 L Street
Sacramento, CA 95814
Telephone: (916) 324-0043
Fax: (916) 322-0717
E-Mail: karen.finn@dof.ca.gov
Commissioner
Appointed by: Department of Finance
on 05/15/07
Alternate: (Vacant)

Katerina Galacatos
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
1455 Market Street, Room 1656
San Francisco, CA 94103-1398
Telephone: (415) 503-6778
Fax: (415) 503-6690
E-Mail: Katerina.Galacatos@usace.army.mil
Alternate to Hicks
Appointed by: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers on 10/15/14

Geoffrey Gibbs
455 Golden Gate Avenue, Suite 10600
San Francisco, CA 94102-7019
Telephone: (415) 352-3600
Fax: (415) 352-3606
Commissioner
Appointed by: Speaker of the Assembly on 06/08/05
Alternate:  Arce

Marie Gilmore
City of Alameda
455 Golden Gate Avenue, Suite 10600
San Francisco, CA 94102-7019
Telephone: (415) 352-3600
Fax: (415) 352-3606
E-Mail: melrgilmore@gmail.com
Alternate to Chan
Appointed by: Alameda County on 03/15/11

John Gioia
Contra Costa County
11780 San Pablo Ave., Suite D
El Cerrito, CA 94530
Telephone: (510) 231-8686
Fax: (510) 374-3429
E-Mail: john.gioia@bos.cccounty.us
Commissioner
Appointed by: Contra Costa County on 01/05/99
Alternate: Glover

Federal D. Glover
Contra Costa County District V
315 East Leland Road
Pittsburg, CA 94565
Telephone: (925) 427-8138
Fax: (925) 427-8142
E-Mail: district5@bos.cccounty.us
Alternate to Gioia
Appointed by: Contra Costa County on 01/05/16

Susan Gorin
County of Sonoma
575 Administration Drive, Room 100A
Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Telephone: (707) 565-2241
Fax: (707) 565-3778
E-Mail: Susan.Gorin@sonoma-county.org
Commissioner
Appointed by: Sonoma County
on 01/08/13
Alternate: Zane

Carole Groom
Hall of Justice and Records
400 County Center
Redwood City, CA 94063
Telephone: (650) 363-4568
Fax: (650) 366-6762
E-Mail: CGroom@co.sanmateo.ca.us
Alternate to Pine
Appointed by:
San Mateo County on 12/15/10

Jane Hicks
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
1455 Market Street, Room 1656
San Francisco, CA 94103-1398
Telephone: (415) 503-6771
Fax: (415) 503-6690
E-Mail: jane.m.hicks@usace.army.mil
Commissioner
Appointed by: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers on 03/24/05
Alternate: Galacatos

Daniel Hillmer
City of Larkspur
400 Magnolia Street
Larkspur, CA 94939
Telephone: (415) 927-5110
E-mail: dhillmer@cityoflarkspur.org
Alternate to Techel
Appointed by: Association of Bay Area Governments 05/02/13

Claire Jahns
California Natural Resources Agency
1416 Ninth Street, Room 1311
Sacramento, CA 95814
Telephone: (916) 653-5656
Fax: (916) 653-8102
E-Mail: claire.jahns@resources.ca.gov
Alternate to DeLaRosa
Appointed by: Secretary of Natural Resources
on 06/01/15

Jane Kim
City and County of San Francisco
1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Room 244
San Francisco, CA 94102-4689
Phone # (415) 554-7970
E-Mail: Jane.Kim@sfgov.org
Commissioner
Appointed by: City and County of San Francisco on 02/24/15
Alternate: Peskin

Jennifer Lucchesi
State Lands Commission
100 Howe Avenue, Suite 100-South
Sacramento, CA 95825-8202
Telephone: (916) 574-1800
E-Mail: Jennifer.Lucchesi@slc.ca.gov
Commissioner
Appointed by: State Lands Commission on 05/13/13
Alternate: Pemberton

Dan McElhinney
California Department of Transportation
District 4
111 Grand Avenue
Oakland, CA 94623-0660
Telephone: (510) 286-5906
Fax: (510) 286-5903
E-Mail: dan_mcelhinney@dot.ca.gov
Alternate to Sartipi
Appointed by: California State Transportation Agency on 04/30/12

Jim McGrath
455 Golden Gate Avenue, Suite 10600
San Francisco, CA 94102-7019
Telephone: (415) 352-3600
E-Mail: macmcgrath@comcast.net
Commissioner
Appointed by: Regional Water Quality Control Board on 02/22/08
Alternate: Ajami

Barry Nelson
Western Water Strategies
2500 Acton Street
Berkeley, CA 94702
Telephone: 510 340 16850
E-Mail: barry@westernwaterstrategies.com
Commissioner
Appointed by: Senate Rules Committee
on 08/09/06
Alternate:  Ranchod

Sheri L. Pemberton
State Lands Commission
100 Howe Avenue, Suite 100-South
Sacramento, CA 95825-8202
Telephone: (916) 574-1800
Fax: (916) 574-1810
E-Mail: sheri.pemberton@slc.ca.gov
Alternate to Lucchesi
Appointed by: State Lands Commission
 on 08/30/12 reappointed on 05/13/13

Aaron Peskin
City and County of San Francisco
1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Room 244
San Francisco, CA 94102-4689
Phone # (415) 554-7450
E-Mail: Aaron.Peskin@sfgov.org
Alternate to Kim
Appointed by: City and County of San Francisco on 01/26/15

Dave Pine
County of San Mateo
400 County Government Center
Redwood City CA 94063
Telephone: 650-363-4571
Fax: (650) 368-3012
E-Mail: dpine@co.sanmateo.ca.us
Commissioner
Appointed by: San Mateo County on 05/24/11
Alternate: Groom

David Rabbitt
County of Sonoma
575 Administration Drive, Room 100A
Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Telephone: (707) 565-2241
Fax: (707) 565-3778
E-Mail: David.Rabbitt@sonoma-county.org
Alternate to Gorin
Appointed by: Sonoma County on 01/10/17

Belia Ramos
Napa County
1195 Third Street, Room 310
Napa, CA 94559
Telephone: (707) 253-4386
Fax: (707) 253-4176
E-Mail: belia.ramos@countyofnapa.org
Alternate to Wagenknecht
Appointed by: Napa County
on 01/10/17

Sanjay M. Ranchod
SolarCity
444 De Haro Street, Suite 101
San Francisco, CA 94107
Telephone: (650) 332-0453
Fax:  (650) 560-6567
E-Mail: sranchod@solarcity.com
Alternate to Nelson
Appointed by: Senate Rules Committee
on 11/30/09

R. Sean Randolph
Bay Area Council Economic Institute
353 Sacramento, Suite 1000
San Francisco, CA 94111
Telephone: (415) 981-7117
Fax: (415) 981-6408
E-Mail: sean@bayareacouncil.org
Commissioner
Appointed by: Governor Schwarzenegger
on 05/06/05
Alternate:  (Vacant)

Bijan Sartipi
California Department of Transportation
District 4
111 Grand Avenue
P.O. Box 23660
Oakland, CA 94623-0660
Ph: (510)286-5900
Fax: (510) 286-5903
E-mail: bijan_sartipi@dot.ca.gov
Commissioner
Appointed by: California State Transportation Agency
on 12/09/09
Alternate: McElhinney

Greg Scharff
City of Palo Alto
250 Hamilton Avenue
Palo Alto, CA 94301
Phone: (650) 329-2100
E-Mail: greg.scharff@cityofpaloalto.org
Alternate to Cortese
Appointed by: Santa Clara County
on 02/12/13

Kathrin Sears
Board of Supervisors
Marin County
Marin County Civic Center
3501 Civic Center Drive, Room 329
San Rafael CA 94903
Telephone: 415-473-7331
Fax: (415) 473-3645
E-mail: ksears@marincounty.org
Commissioner
Appointed by: Marin County on 06/21/11
Alternate: Connolly

Patricia Showalter
City of Mountain View
500 Castro Street
Mountain View, CA 94041
Telephone: (650) 903-6300
E-Mail: Pat.Showalter@mountainview.gov
Commissioner
Appointed by: Association of Bay Area Governments
on 01/19/17

Jim Spering
Board of Supervisors
Solano County
675 Texas Street, Suite 6500
Fairfield CA 94533-6342
Telephone: (707) 784-6136
Fax: (707) 784-6665
E-Mail: jimzspering@cs.com
Commissioner
Appointed by Solano County on 1/04/11; 2/7/12; 1/8/13; 1/7/14; 1/6/15
Alternate: Vasquez

Jill Techel
City of Napa
955 School Street
Napa, CA 94559
Telephone: (707) 257-9513
Fax: (707) 257-9534
E-Mail: jtechel@cityofnapa.org  
Commissioner
Appointed by: Association of Bay Area Governments
on 03/15/12
Alternate:  Hillmer

John Vasquez
Board of Supervisors
Solano County
675 Texas Street, Suite 6500
Fairfield CA 94533-6342
Telephone: 707-784-6129
Fax: 707-784-6665
E-Mail: jmvasquez@solanocounty.com
Alternate to Spering
Appointed by Solano County on 1/04/11; 2/7/12; 1/8/13; 1/7/14; 1/6/15

Brad Wagenknecht
Napa County
1195 Third Street, Room 310
Napa, CA 94559
Telephone: (707) 253-4828
Fax: (707) 253-4176
E-Mail: brad.wagenknecht@countyofnapa.org
Commissioner
Appointed by: Napa County
on 01/03/05; reappointed on 01/06/09; 01/11/11
Alternate: Ramos

Sam Ziegler
EPA-Region 9 (WTR-3)
75 Hawthorne Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
Telephone: (415) 972-3399
Fax: (415) 947-3537
E-Mail: ziegler.sam@epa.gov
Commissioner
Appointed by: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
on 02/25/10
Alternate: Brush

Alexander Zwissler
455 Golden Gate Avenue, Suite 10600
San Francisco, CA 94102-7019
Telephone: (415) 352-3600
Commissioner
Appointed by: Governor Brown
on 05/07/13
Alternate:  (Vacant) 


Ex Parte Communication Requirements

Ex parte communications raise due process and fair hearing concerns because Commission decisions must be based on information that has been provided to all parties and the public, and also must be based on material contained only in the administrative record. The memorandum on ex parte communications explains the prohibition on ex parte communications, and Commissioners’ duties to disclose and report such communications if they occur to preserve the integrity of the Commission’s decision-making process. The Commission’s regulations prohibit ex parte communications in adjudicatory actions (permit, consistency and enforcement actions) before the Commission. (Cal Code Regs., tit. 14, § 10283(a).) If a prohibited ex parte communication nevertheless occurs, the regulations require Commissioners to disclose the content of the communication on the record, and submit a memorandum to the Executive Director that indentifies the party(s) involved, the substance of he conversation, and any response to the communication. (Id.).

If an ex parte communication occurs for any permit application, enforcement action or consistency review determination, you may send the ex parte disclosure form to exparte@bcdc.ca.gov or can contact Commission legal staff at (415) 352-3600.


Legislative Appointees

California State Senate

The Honorable Loni Hancock
State Capitol, Room 2082
Sacramento, CA 95814-4900
Telephone: (916) 651-4009

Alternate (Vacant)

Assembly Representative

The Honorable Philip Ting
State Capitol, Room 3123
Sacramento, CA 95814
Telephone: (916) 319-2019
Alternate: Michael Sweet

Vacancies

Association of Bay Area Government Appointee
Governor’s Appointee
Alternate to Finn
Alternate to Gioia
Alternate to Kim
Alternate to Randolph
Alternate to Wasserman
Alternate to Zwissler

Executive Director

Lawrence J. Goldzband
455 Golden Gate Avenue, Suite 10600
San Francisco, CA 94102-7019
Telephone: (415) 352-3653
Fax: (415) 352-3606
E-Mail: lgoldzband@bcdc.ca.gov


Commissioners and Advisors Representing the Commission on other Commissions, Committees, or Boards

Association of Bay Area Governments Regional Planning Committee
Vacant

Joint Policy Committee
R. Zachary Wasserman
Geoffrey Gibbs
John Gioia
Dave Pine
Brad Wagenknecht

Metropolitan Transportation Commission
Anne Halsted

Regional Agencies Smart Growth Steering Committee
John Gioia

Regional Airport Planning Committee
Tom Bates
Geoffrey Gibbs
Sean Randolph

Seaport Planning Advisory Committee
Anne Halsted, Chair

San Francisco Bay Harbor Safety Committee
Jim McGrath
(Alternate: Linda Scourtis)